top of page

So I found my old English project...

So I've recently graduated and picked up my diploma from the freshman high school about two days after commencement, but I never expected to receive my old poems back from an English teacher I had in 9th grade. While I was touched by the gesture, I couldn't help but marvel at how my writing has changed over the years. It seemed as if I was more creative back then than I was this year or maybe even last year.

I guess it's because of the work load that high schoolers get as they increase in grade level and the level of the course, but it could also be of how limited I left in my IB English HL class. See, although we are thought to express ourselves and write whatever our heart is set on, I feel like that isn't true at school. We are taught to pass the exam, but not to really think open-mindedly as we should. We read books that are required of us, not what interest us. We write essays in a way that will please the scorer, but maybe not us. Now, I did dabble in my own imaginations from time to time during the school year, but I was often burned out and unable to finish a chapter. It would take me months to pick back up on an unfinished novel because I was just done with writing in general.

But eventually, I couldn't stay away from a personal love of mine for long, so whenever an idea suddenly popped up in my mind, or I had a sudden craving for writing, I took that chance and made mental notes, or just typed bullet points onto my memo in my smartphone. See, I never lost my creativity, but instead it was just kind of suppressed, not living up to its full potential. I have a feeling that I'm just babbling on and on about something that probably sounds disconnected...Or maybe this sentence is disconnected? *dramatic music* Meh, the point is that you should take the time to sit down with a pen and paper, or maybe your laptop and type up some dabbles from time to time. It's essential to get those creative juices flowing, even if it's only a word or two. Try your best to not let your creativity be suppressed by stress or the demands by the outside world. Listen to your imagination, it has quite a beautiful voice.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page