top of page

Misconceptions About Introverts

Whenever the word "introvert" pops up, most people conjure up this false image of a solitary human sitting in the corner, hissing at crowds, trembling at the thought of communication, and basically being an awkward turtle in society. As an introvert myself, I cringe at these stereotypes and often just stare at people when they say "you speak!"

1. Shyness=INTROVERT

HONK! Not true human! I confess that I am shy towards people that I do not know or in situations I do not want to be in, but if I get comfortable with the person that I am speaking to, or am with friends that understand me, then I am as free as a bird. The social situation really makes a difference here...And whether or not you really want to be involved.

2. Introverts HATE being around people.

Again, it really depends on the situation and how the introvert feels. We introverts draw energy from our alone times and can get pretty tired from being around company all day. Therefore, it's not that we hate people, but rather we want some time to ourselves and just unwind.

Additionally, introverts like being with a close group of friends, people whom they can trust the most. I have a lot of friends, but I keep 5 really close good friends because I find that I can be free with them the most.

3. Introverts hate public speaking

I can actually say that I do hate public speaking, but if I've prepared it well or do topic that is to my liking, then it isn't much of a problem. Just because we're quiet, doesn't mean that we don't like expressing ourselves. Hey, President Lincoln was an introvert, but look at how he led our country. Gettysburg Address anyone?

4. "You speak?!"

Why yes. I can speak. You can breath oxygen too right? OMG!!!

5. Introverts are mean and depressing humans

Am I mean? Most of my friends would say that I have a dark sense of humor, but I am generally an optimistic person. Introverts tend to spend a lot of time thinking and analyzing about life...Or maybe about the fact that she should get a part-time job...

I liked this picture too much...XD

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page